Skip to Content

Alfred Bradley Bursary Award

United Kingdom

Award Up to £6000 over two years and a BBC Radio Drama commission, the opportunity to develop further ideas with Radio Drama.

c/o BBC Radio Drama, Room 2129, New Broadcasting House, Oxford Road, Manchester M60 1SJ

Phone 0161 244 4255

Fax 0161 244 4248

Contact: Coordinator

Established 1992. Biennial award in commemoration of the life and work of the distinguished radio producer Alfred Bradley. Aims to encourage and develop new radio writing talent in the BBC North region. There is a change of focus for each award, e.g. previous years have targeted comedy drama, verse drama, etc. Entrants must live in the North region. The award is given to help writers to pursue a career in writing for radio. The next award will be launched in spring 2004, with a deadline for scripts in autumn 2004. Previous winners: Lee Hall, Mandy Precious, Peter Straughan, Pam Leeson.


Last updated: 
21 May 2012 - 9:30pm

Please contact the Bursaries & Scholarships directly and not via WritersServices

  • Our Links listing provides a review of some sites which contain useful information for writers.
  • Inclusion in this list does not imply any support for the aims, objectives, policy or advice given.
  • Our comments reflect our personal view.
  • Please remember that we have no control over these sites and they might relocate or vanish.
  • Do tell us about any changes, so we can make corrections, or to suggest sites we can add to the list.
  • We would particularly like to add more links to sites outside the UK.
  • Reciprocal links would be appreciated.