Skip to Content

Writing Opportunities 2021

Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award 2021

Closing date: 
1 July 2021
Writers writing in English and resident within the British Commonwealth and Eire, who have not yet published or self-published a full-length book No entry fee
First Prize £10,000, runners-up £1,000

Applications for the 2021 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award are now invited.

Submissions can be made until 1 July 2021.

The judges of the 2021 DRF Writers Award will be Colm Tóibín (Chair), Deepa Anappara, Anna James and Ingrid Persaud. They will announce the shortlist of three in November 2021 and the Award will be presented in London on 7th December 2021.

An award of £10,000 will be presented to a first-time prose writer whose submission demonstrates literary talent and who would benefit from financial support to complete their work.


  • Applicants may not be under contract to any publisher for any work or title in any language.
  • Applications are open to writers who have not previously published a full-length book of their own prose writing (including self-published or published on-line) excluding a collection of their own poetry. They may have published short prose writing within a magazine/anthology.
  • Submissions should be accompanied with a brief synopsis and biographical note.
  • Longlisted authors will be offered an editorial consultation with an agent at RCW.

More details