Skip to Content

Writing Opportunities 2019

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2020

Closing date: 
1 November 2019
Open to Commonwealth writers for unpublished stories in 11 languages No entry fee
Overall winner £5,000, five regional winners £2,500

Entrants can submit in 11 languages and the prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000-5,000 words). The five regional winners each receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives a total of £5,000.

Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.

The prize is open to citizens of all Commonwealth countries and judged by an international panel, representing each of the five regions of the Commonwealth. The judges for the 2020 prize are: Nii Ayikwei Parkes (Chair), Mohale Mashigo (Africa), William Phuan (Asia), Heather O'Neill (Canada and Europe), Elizabeth Walcott-Hackshaw (Caribbean), and Nic Low (Pacific).

The five regional winning stories are published online by the literary magazine Granta.

Janet Steel, programme manager of Commonwealth Writers, said: "The prize is at the heart of all the work we do at Commonwealth Writers. It's a chance for new voices to shine from around the Commonwealth and be recognised on a global platform."

Last year's winner, Constantia Soteriou, said: "This prize is a recognition for giving voice to those who did not have the chance to be heard before; those who were left behind."

More details