Skip to Content

Writing Opportunities 2019

The International Rubery Book of the Year Award 2019

Closing date: 
31 March 2019
Open to all writers internationally who have published or self-published their work Entry fee £37
£1500 plus £150 for at least three category winners

The Rubery Prize is a prestigious international book award seeking the best books by indie writers, self published authors and books published by independent presses, judged by reputable judges.

It is open to all writers internationally and is awarded to a book published in print or ebook form. Books published by independent presses and self published books are eligible to enter

We accept fiction (all genres), young adult, children's, biographies, non-fiction, self-help, cookery, poetry, photography etc. There are no limits on the type.


We have secured three high profile judges:

Paul McDonald - senior lecturer in English and Creative Writing at the University of Wolverhampton. He is the author of fifteen books, including three novels and three collections of poetry.

Kerry Hadley-Pryce is a PhD student who has had two novels published; The Black Country and Gamble. She was awarded the Michael Schmidt Prize while completing her MA.

Clare Morrall - her debut novel, Astonishing Splashes of Colour, was shortlisted for the MAN Booker Prize. Morrall was also shortlisted for British Newcomer of the Year 2003. Her fourth novel, The Man who Disappeared, was selected for the TV Book Club 2010. In 2012 The Roundabout Man was released to critical acclaim.

For more details

The Brotherton Poetry Prize

Closing date: 
4 March 2019
Open to anyone in the world over the age of 18 who hasn't yet published a full collection of poems Entry fee £10
First Prize £1,000, 4 runners-up £200

This new prize has just been launched by the University of Leeds Poetry Centre.

The Brotherton Poetry Prize is open to anyone in the world over the age of 18 who hasn't yet published a full collection of poems (a chapbook or pamphlet does not count as a full collection). Entries to the competition should include no more than 200 lines of poetry in up to five individual poems.

The judges will be Simon Armitage, Melvyn Bragg, Professor John Whale, University Librarian Stella Butler, Vahni Capildeo and Malika Booker.

The winner will receive £1,000 and the opportunity to develop their creative practice with the University of Leeds Poetry Centre.

Four runners-up will each receive £200.

The poems of the five shortlisted poets will be published as an anthology by Carcanet Press. All entrants who provide a UK postal address will receive a copy of the anthology on publication. The shortlisted poets will be invited to take part in a series of readings and events held at the University of Leeds and in other venues in Yorkshire.

All shortlisted poets will receive travel expenses up to £150 to cover expenses associated with the competition announcement. Expenses for UK-based poets associated with events may be reimbursed.

The Brotherton Poetry Prize is generously supported by the Charles Brotherton Trust.

More details



Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize

Closing date: 
1 March 2019
Open to writers of any nationality writing in English No entry fee
£15,000 for each Prize plus a publishing deal with Bonnier for Best Unpublished Manuscript

Submissions for the 2019 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize are now open. The international prize is now in its fourth year. Entries are accepted from writers of any nationality, writing in English. The deadline is 1 March.

There are two categories:

Best Published Novel (£15,000) - novels must be published by a recognised trade publisher between 1 May 2018 and 30 April 2019. Proof copies are accepted.

Best Unpublished Manuscript The prize is a publishing deal with Bonnier Books UK, with a £15,000 advance. Submissions must exceed 50,000 words in length. The author must not be represented by a literary agent or already have a novel published. Self-published books are eligible. Each shortlisted author will receive three months of one-to-one manuscript development.

The judges are:

• Kirsty Coventry, gold-medal Olympic swimmer and minister of youth, sport, arts and recreation in Zimbabwe

• Alex Crawford, Sky News foreign correspondent

• Abir Mukherjee, author and winner of the 2018 Adventure Writing Prize

• Kevin Conroy Scott, Wilbur Smith's literary agent

• Sue Wilkinson MBE, chief executive of the Reading Agency

• Levison Wood, explorer, writer and photographer

The shortlist for both awards will be announced in May, and the awards ceremony will take place on 12 September at Stationers' Hall, London. Entries must be submitted digitally via

More details