Skip to Content

Writing Opportunities 2018

The Moth Poetry Prize 2018

Closing date: 
31 December 2018
Open to all poets over 16 Entry fee £12 per poem
First Prize of €10,000, and three runner-up prizes of €1,000

The Moth Poetry Prize is one of the biggest prizes in the world for a single unpublished poem. The prize is open to anyone (over 16) as long as the poem is previously unpublished, and each year it attracts thousands of entries from new and established poets from over 50 countries worldwide.

The prize is judged anonymously by a single poet. The judge only learns who the shortlisted poets are following the selection of the winning poems. Past judges include Deborah Landau, Daljit Nagra, Leontia Flynn and Billy Collins.

The shortlist will be announced in March 2019 and the four shortlisted poems will feature in the spring issue of The Moth.

The winners will be invited to a special prizegiving event at Poetry Ireland

The website of the Irish National Poetry Organisation, offering a resource centre, introductions and readings from new and emerging poets resident in Ireland.

in Dublin in the spring of 2019.

Past winners include Natalya Anderson, Paul McMahon, Lee Sharkey, Ann Gray (whose poem was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem) and Abigail Parry (who was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection).

The Judge

The poet and novelist Jacob Polley will judge this year's Moth Poetry Prize. Jacob is the author of four acclaimed poetry collections published by Picador, the latest of which, Jackself, won the T. S. Eliot Prize. He is also the recipient of a Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and his novel Talk of the Town won a Somerset Maugham Award. He teaches at the University of Newcastle.

For more details