Skip to Content

Writing Opportunities 2018

The Bridport Prize 2018

Closing date: 
31 May 2018
Open to writers of any nationality writing in English, 16 years old and over Entry fees various
Poetry and Short Story First Prize £5,000, Flash Fiction and First Novel First Prize £1,000

Welcome to the Bridport Prize

This year's competition closes 31 May, 12 midnight BST 2018.

We're an open writing competition that is dedicated to finding and encouraging the most promising new writers from across the world. Each year the judges award over £18,000 in prize money for your best submissions in poetry, short stories, flash fiction and first novels.

The 2018 judges are Monica Ali, Daljit Nagra, Kamila Shamsie.

As well as cash prizes, all winners are published in the Bridport Prize anthology. Winners of the Peggy Chapman Andrews First Novel Award will receive mentoring with our partner The Literary Consultancy.

The prize was founded in 1973, in a small town in Dorset, UK, by Peggy Chapman-Andrews. Today it is a global writing competition and many winners have gone on to see their work published and have become household names.

For more details


Polari First Book Prize 2018

Closing date: 
1 May 2018
Books must have been published in English by a writer born or resident in the UK, but self-published books are eligible

Submissions are now open for this year's Polari First Book Prize, which celebrates the very best debut books that explore the LGBT experience, whether through poetry, prose, fiction or non-fiction.

Deadline for submissions is Tuesday 1 May, 2018.

Books must have been published in English by a writer born or resident in the UK.

Books must have been published in the 12 months up to 1 February 2018.

Self-published works in both print and digital formats are also eligible.

Works should be submitted by the publisher, while self-published works should be submitted together with a letter explaining why the book was self-published.

Now into its eighth year, the longlist for this year's prize will be announced at the Southbank Centre on Tuesday 26 June, followed by a shortlist announcement on Tuesday 24th July.

The final winner will revealed in October at the London Literature Festival.

Judges for this year's prize are -

Rachel Holmes - author and former Head of Literature at Southbank
VG Lee - author and comedian
Alexis Gregory - playwright, performer and producer
Karen McLeod - author and performer
Paul Burston (chair) - author and founder of Polari

For further submission information, please email

For more details